The Law Offices Of Steve Rossi P.A.Florida Statewide School Law Representation
"We Will Represent You Anywhere in Florida""Affordable Payment Plans Available"
800-820-1451 Spanish, Hebrew, Italian,
Hungarian, Creole, Russian,
Portuguese
24 hours a day/7 days a week

Fort Lauderdale Education Law Blog

Seek help if you are accused of assaulting a student

In the eyes of the law, assault can occur in many ways. In fact, sometimes when a person has been accused of assault, he or she is completely surprised by the allegations.

Educators are in a unique position in that they have a great deal of almost daily contact with students. This results in the building of relationships complete with all the pitfalls present in other kinds of relationships. Tempers can flare, words can be misunderstood and even the most innocent physical contact can be deemed inappropriate.

What kinds of educator misconduct should you report?

Educator misconduct can be a serious concern for parents. A poor educator, or one who is violating the rules of the district, local or federal laws or taking advantage of students is a risk to all students in the system.

Misconduct comes in many forms and includes things like harming students or acting in a detrimental way. For instance, if a teacher cheats on a professional exam to get a higher score, this would be misconduct.

Florida schools and the zero-tolerance policy

When your child goes to school, it's important that he or she is protected and feels safe. It's Florida's law that your child has to be protected by the district and that you and your child retain certain rights in regards to his or her education. For instance, if your child gets into trouble, you're allowed to have a review of what happened and are allowed to be given information on what happened along with the penalties.

Florida has a policy of zero tolerance for crime and victimization in schools. Schools are supposed to be safe learning environments where children can go to learn without fearing their peers or teachers. It is the law that each district has to adopt a policy of zero tolerance.

Teacher accused of sexual relationship with female student

As a parent, one of the things you may be worried about is predators in the school system your child attends. It's very important to report any odd behavior or claims your child makes, because it could lead to finding out about dangerous behavior on the part of teachers or other school officials.

A middle school teacher from Florida is facing a sex charge for accusations that he was having a sexual relationship with one of his students. The Bay County Sheriff's Office reported that the 29-year-old man is facing a charge of lewd and lascivious battery.

Teacher faces charges for impregnating young student

When your child goes to school, you want him or her to be protected. You expect the staff to be kind and courteous, and you think of the school as a safe place. If you find out your child has been hurt or abused, you have every right to file a claim against the district and person responsible. Criminal charges are often already in the works.

On Sept. 23rd, it was reported that a Florida Middle School teacher has been charged for having a relationship with a student that resulted in sexual activity. He is accused of getting the girl, who is reportedly under the age of 16, pregnant.

How do children qualify for tuition in Florida?

Tuition support can help you send your child to school without the expense of books and materials that you may not want to pay for or be able to afford. If you want to obtain extra or guaranteed tuition for schooling by meeting residency requirements in Florida, there are a few things you need to know. First, you can be identified as a Florida resident after living in the state in a legal residence for 12 consecutive months prior to the first day of classes.

Can you be denied classification as a resident due to immigration status?

You can fight back if a school won't protect your child

When it comes to bullying, nothing is worse than seeing your child suffer. Bullying is a crime, and although schools should take care of the problem before it requires police intervention, there are times when it's perfectly necessary to involve the police and to file a lawsuit against the district. For example, if a child is pushed at school, then the teachers should step in and talk to the bully about behaving. However, if a student is pushed and beaten on a daily basis with no intervention, a parent may want to call the police and intervene.

How many kids suffer the consequences of bullies' actions? One child is bullied in the United States every seven minutes; while that might be expected at schools where kids interact, the truly upsetting fact is that only four out of 100 adults intervene.

Are there hour requirements for kindergarten?

As a parent, you want what is best for your child. For this reason, you need to understand the finer details associated with the education system in Fort Lauderdale. If you don't, you could find yourself making a mistake that not only holds your child back, but gets you in hot water with the law.

There are kindergarten admission requirements in all 50 states, meaning that you need to know when your child has to attend and for how many hours per day.

Cyberbullying: A crime in Florida

While the Internet can be a helpful resource in the classroom, it can also lead to trouble. A student who gets online and posts embarrassing photos of another or one who uses it as a place to gossip could be impacting another student with cyberbullying.

Cyberbullying is a crime in most states now, particularly when it becomes stalking or harassment. Cyberbullying is defined as the systematic infliction of physical or psychological distress on a person via electronic channels. If this is taking place and affecting your child or even an adult loved one working at a school, it's important to start looking into your options to stop the harassment.

You can file a lawsuit if a school withholds your child's records

When you're sending your child to school, one of the things you may be interested in knowing about is how to access your child's records. You can do this until your child is 18, at which time your child may need to file a release to allow you to access records.

Do parents have a legal right to access documents related to their children's schooling?