The Law Offices Of Steve Rossi P.A.Florida Statewide School Law Representation
"We Will Represent You Anywhere in Florida""Affordable Payment Plans Available"
1-888-447-0568 Spanish, Hebrew, Italian,
Hungarian, Creole, Russian,
Portuguese
24 hours a day/7 days a week

Your child must go to school in Florida

As a parent, there are some education laws that you have to follow. Not doing so for any reason could result in you facing charges for failing to properly educate your child. These laws have been created to help make sure all children get the same chances; literacy and arithmetic, along with hobbies and other subjects, are all required to be taught, giving your child a well-rounded education.

Compulsory education laws are in place that require you to send your child to a state-accredited private or public school. Homeschooling is also possible, as long as the curriculum is approved by the state. All states have mandates that determine when children should start attending school and the minimum age at which they're allowed to leave school. Typically, kids must attend school between the ages of 6 and 16, although many people attend school for longer when you consider preschool and college or university.

Initially, these laws were put into place to improve literacy and to stop widespread child labor in the 1800s and 1900s. Starting in 1852, early American laws required parents to send children to school, or they could face fines or even lose custody of their children. There are a few exceptions, such as in the case of Amish families who must only attend school until 8th grade, but on the whole, all children generally go to school or their parents risk serious penalties.

You could risk penalties if you refuse to send your child to school or don't use an approved homeschooling plan. You can defend yourself, but it's important to understand how the law is going to affect you.

Source: FindLaw, "Compulsory Education Laws: Background," accessed July 15, 2015

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information